RSS

Going Paperless

20 Jan

I have been doing a lot of research lately for an Environmental Education class on the subject of going paperless. It is an interesting topic that has critics on both ends of the spectrum. Some of the concerns about going paperless are security and the power use required to use electronic devices. Some concerns about using paper are massive amounts of storage (in offices), waste, and materials required to make paper, including trees.

With my newfound knowledge of blogs, and what they offer, I have been reading one that is written by a lawyer called “Going Paperless: One Lawyer’s Quest to Make Work Easier.” He is working to make work easier, more eco-friendly, and more efficient. From his blog I may not have obtained any scientific data that will support my research. That said, I have gathered valuable knowledge about the realities of a company, and a real person, who is trying to help his employees and the environment in a genuine way.

My stance on the subject is that we will always require some paper, and so, simply dismissing it rather than working to improve paper-making techniques that can be greener, as well as working to “Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle,” we can use both computers and technology as well as paper to improve our world.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2012 in Blogging Adventures

 

2 responses to “Going Paperless

  1. Kalene Scott

    February 1, 2012 at 11:46 am

    I agree that it is impossible to not use paper. I personally am a paper person. I feel that if I write out notes that it sticks a lot better. Though once I go through binders I always recycle that paper that I used to do my part for the environment.

    Kalene

     
    • Alyshia

      February 2, 2012 at 4:36 pm

      Thanks for sharing! I am absolutely the same as you! I prefer pen and paper to typing, but do recycle all of my notes.

       

Leave a Reply

 
