RSS

The First Music Lesson

25 Jan

Today was my first piano lesson! I arrived 20 minutes early because I wasn’t certain I knew where I was going. The receptionists at the conservatory giggled at my incredibly early arrival!

There are three other people in my class– quite an eclectic mix, actually. There is an elderly married couple that bicker hilariously, and a mom that seems to enjoy traveling to Nunavut with her family. And of course, the history and beauty of the College Ave Campus just add more depth to the interesting environment of our lesson and class.

I held my own in the lesson, and needed to ask clarification only a few times. I learned what a semi-tone, whole-tone, the clefs, and the notes that follow the word F-A-C-E on the treble clef are, as well as note values. I am incredibly eager to go to the music room to practice so that I am prepared for next week’s lesson!

There is talk of a recital at the end of the semester! How exciting!

Any advice for a new music learner?!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2012 in My Musical Learning Journey

 

3 responses to “The First Music Lesson

  1. jillianengele

    January 26, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    Hi Alyshia!

    That is awesome that you have decided to learn the piano. It is definitely a life-long skill that you can continue even as you grow old! I took piano lessons until about my mid-teens – I started to get busy with other extracurricular activities! Looking back I regret my decision to quit piano as I am a singer and would love to accompany myself now. My advice to you is that when you are practicing, if you get frustrated with a piece you are working on, stop and take a break! When you are ready to start again you will not feel so stressed. (Also, writing in the notes helped for me although my teacher did not like that ha ha!)
    Hope this helped a bit!
    Happy learning – looking forward to hear about the progress you make!

     
    • Alyshia

      January 31, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      Thanks for the advice! I easily get frustrated, so I will definitely have to make sure I take plenty of breaks!
      I have no need to worry about getting in trouble for writing in the notes, as I am still in the stage that they are typed in for me! haha!

       

Leave a Reply

 
