RSS

Family Memories: Handcrafted or Digitized?

02 Feb

My family has been preparing for my grandparents’ 50th wedding anniversary, and we are putting together a family heirloom album. It has been a much contested point as to if it should be put together by hand with traditional embellishments and printed photographs, or if it should be compiled digitally and printed into a book.

One of the main debates was in regards to the idea that doing it by hand is so much more work. Well, as I am quickly realizing, digital projects can take just as much, if not more, time as handicrafts if we let them! It was also argued that handmade books look more personal and thoughtful than a digital compilation. Why is that, I wondered? It’s the same pictures, the same person that would put both together. Why is one considered more thoughtful and personal than the other? Is this perspective changing?

What about the way we take pictures now? I know that I store dozens of photos (usually ones that are remarkably similar to one another!) on my camera for months before transferring them to my computer. Many I do not print at all. Is this changing the way we view family heirlooms and memories?

I was personally an advocate for the handmade option, as I do still prefer it to the digital copies, especially as an heirloom album, and with our decision in favour of the traditional album, I look forward to helping in the creation of the pages. However, I am curious as to other perspectives and considerations! Anyone have any preferences? What would you have chosen?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2012 in Blogging Adventures

 

2 responses to “Family Memories: Handcrafted or Digitized?

  1. Cynthia Schultz

    February 3, 2012 at 2:28 am

    My preference would be to create a digital compilation but to also have some of the most meaningful pictures printed out and assembled in a small book. Handmade and digital albums can both take a long time, but the end result is worth it no matter which method you choose. You get out of it what you put into it!

     
    • Alyshia

      February 3, 2012 at 12:15 pm

      Thanks for your perspective! Putting together both types would be an excellent idea!

       

Leave a Reply

 
