RSS

Tech Task #6: Storytelling

07 Feb

Five Card Story: The Adventures of Imagination

a Five Card Flickr story created by Alyshia


flickr photo by bionicteaching


flickr photo by Serenae


flickr photo by bionicteaching


flickr photo by D’Arcy Norman


flickr photo by Serenae

There once were three children that had a day off of school. What to do? They decided to go exploring! Peeking through the back fence, they discovered a magnificent view of an unknown land, so on the count of three they jumped in: 1—2—3!!!

They explored this new land, and met a gentleman who welcomed them to this land and invited them to explore his church. They played there, and met some friends before they continued on their journey. Their next stop sent them into the clouds! Up, up, and AWAY! They soared like eagles, dove, twisted, and glided through the fluffy clouds. ZOOM!

Then Mom called, “It’s time for dinner! Come inside and wash up!”

In the distance, as they turned towards home, they could see an archway that led to a magical garden– their next adventure, surely!


This storytelling assignment was definitely interesting. I played around with various websites, and a variety of different methods that involved voice, text, photographs, or videos. I finally settled on this idea, because the idea of not knowing precisely what type of story will take shape until all of the photos is unique. I believe we, as teachers, too often require students to have their outline flawless before they begin their stories. I know I was always required to know the end before I began the beginning. I do not believe that that is always fair, and therefore, I like this style of storytelling.

However, I found it difficult to stray too far from the traditional definition of a “story.” If you noticed, my story is very traditional with a precise beginning, middle, and end, and could probably pass easily as a book in a classroom. Apparently I have a lot of room for growth regarding my considerations of storytelling!

Certainly, I believe that digital storytelling is a unique and engaging possibility for teachers and students alike, and could be easily used in a classroom.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 7, 2012 in Tech Tasks

 

2 responses to “Tech Task #6: Storytelling

  1. Alec Couros (@courosa)

    February 7, 2012 at 10:15 pm

    While I mentioned there are many types of stories, I don’t think it is essential to stray away from traditional stories altogether. I just want you, as a teacher and learner, to be open to many types of stories, especially if they are meaningful to those that tell them (e.g., your students).

    Thanks for doing this!

     
    • Alyshia

      February 8, 2012 at 12:25 pm

      Ok, thanks! Yes, I kept your idea of a wide variation of stories in mind today, actually, when I was working on skits that Gr. 1-3 students created. They were certainly not all “traditional story format,” but they were absolutely meaningful to the kids!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
