RSS

The Emotional and Social Benefits of Skype for Students

08 Feb

I have never truly appreciated the technology that provides us with Skype as much as I have this past weekend.
My family has moved numerous times, so I did not grow up in the same community, or with the same friends. Actually, I have attended eight different schools in different provinces. Therefore, I am miles away from any of my really close friends.
I was able to text one friend who lives across the province, and within 30 seconds she had received my message, replied, and within another five minutes we were sitting with our laptops in our laps staring at each other. That is amazing. A person can express pain, sympathy, kindness, and concern, joy, peace, and teasing, and offer advice and comfort in ways previously impossible through the telephone or letters.
I think that videoconferencing and Skype certainly have numerous benefits for the classroom, and I have always planned on using this technology in my own classroom, but I believe that just as important as the educational aspects are the emotional and social developments that this technology offers. Maybe a student is struggling with a unique disease, and feels isolated in his or her own school. The companionship of a friend that may be across the world no longer means that the relationship is compromised. Certainly, letter writing has always been an instrumental and effective part of communication, and Skype still has its limitations, but the friendships that can begin, flourish, and be maintained through such technology as Skype makes me very thankful for our technology today. The emotional and social developments that can arise for a student with the assistance of Skype, in my opinion, is not considered enough by teachers and parents, and yet, is an incredible opportunity. An additional bonus: it is free!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2012 in Blogging Adventures

 

2 responses to “The Emotional and Social Benefits of Skype for Students

  1. Brittany Newberry

    February 8, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    I absolutely love your comment about Skype you make a very good point about its unique abilitiy. Some people definitely underestimate the power this program, or any other type of technology for that matter, can have on a person or many people. It would be extremely interesting to see Skype being used actively in a classroom to enable students to connect to others around the world that they can not only relate to but share their expriences with.

     
    • Alyshia

      February 12, 2012 at 5:04 pm

      Thanks so much for your comment! I wasn’t sure that I was making any sense, but I’m glad you understood!

       

Leave a Reply

 
