RSS

A Reminder to ENJOY the Learning

12 Feb

I have been working steadily on my piano skills. It seems some days like it is pretty unsuccessful, but I am sure that I am continuing to learn more each day!

I found this picture of me when I was little. Apparently I’ve always wanted to play, just never gotten much beyond the basics! It’s about time to learn if I’ve been waiting since I was three! I’m sure my little three-year-old self would not have minded just pounding away on the keys (to the great chagrin of my mother) without worrying about hitting all (or any!) of the correct notes. By the looks of this photo, I used my whole palm to just hit as many notes as I possibly could at one time! This photo reminded me to just enjoy this learning process– to have FUN!

The Little Pianist

On a different note, I’ve been told that pianists in our worship band generally just play “tabs.” To be able to play with the worship team has been my goal of this project all along. I’ve looked at them, and I have begun working on some chording (C, F, G– the easy ones), but have no idea how to play a song exclusively with chords! I usually use chords to accompany the right hand. Anybody know how it works? I can’t just do solid chords for the whole song, can I? And how do I count?! There are no measures! Am I in over my head?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 12, 2012 in My Musical Learning Journey

 

5 responses to “A Reminder to ENJOY the Learning

  1. pviher

    February 17, 2012 at 8:11 am

    Cute pic., Alyshia!

     
  2. randilyninspired

    February 25, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Hey!
    So I was trying to type out some helpful hints and it wasn’t working so i thought I would create a video for you! I love music and it is a huge part of my life and I am excited about all the music learning projects in ECMP this semester. I used the song “Blessed be Your Name” as an example and I hope you know it. This is the website were I got the tabs. http://tabs.ultimate-guitar.com/m/matt_redman/blessed_be_your_name_crd.htm
    This is my blog, if you want to ask me anything or just check it out that would be great! http://randilyninspired.wordpress.com/ Thanks..
    Heres the video!

     
    • Alyshia

      February 25, 2012 at 3:07 pm

      AHHHHHHH! You have NO idea how much this meant to me! Thank you a hundred times over! You will make an AMAZING teacher– I love how you were able to break it down into the simplest of beginnings, and yet illustrate where I can work up to, and the necessary steps in getting there. THANK YOU!! I will definitely let you know if I have any questions, and will hopefully be able to provide some useful comments or assistance to you one of these days too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
