RSS

Sl..ow..ly.. But Surely Making Progress

01 Mar

I’ve decided to post a video of my progress thus far, considering I realized I had not done that yet. I have videotaped most of my practice times that I’ve done, and just opened up my most recent recording.

It was nearly a whole hour of this. I only uploaded less than a minute, because nobody wants to watch an hour of this:

I wasn’t going to upload it, but I found it quite amusing actually and it is a significant portion of my learning journey! I must also admit how proud I am to be able to use Windows Movie Maker to cut the video, remember how to upload it to YouTube, and manage to get it onto my blog– all by myself!

I have never spent a whole hour doing this type of practice before, but I apparently felt the need to today. What I was doing, if you can’t tell, is writing in the notes (notice it’s only for the left hand!). For me it makes more sense to translate them onto the keys first, listen to them, and then write down the letter underneath the notes on the sheet of music. I don’t know if it’s the most beneficial way of learning or not, but right now it helps me to get less frustrated! One song that I have sort of gotten comfortable with I have gone back and erased the notes that I had written in so that now I am playing without the letters. Progress? I think so!

 
 

2 responses to “Sl..ow..ly.. But Surely Making Progress

  1. Alec Couros (@courosa)

    March 1, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks for sharing the video, and I’m glad you have figured out the video editing portion. I’m glad you told us what you were doing because I couldn’t figure it out! 🙂

    Keep it up!

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      March 3, 2012 at 10:22 am

      Thanks! I’m excited and inspired to finish both the learning project and the class on a high note, and to be able to look back to reflect regarding how far I’ve come in both areas!

       

Leave a Reply

 
