RSS

A Protégé? Not Quite…

08 Mar

I’ve been practicing the piano lots over the past couple of weeks. All of my friends are incredibly supportive of this learning journey, and I think they may have too high of expectations! They email me songs that I should learn, continue to tell me that they can’t wait to hear me play, etc. Interestingly, none of them can actually play the piano! I’m glad for their votes of confidence, but I’m afraid this fifty hour journey is not going to equate me with any world-renowned pianist.

So, I was just wandering through the virtual world of YouTube for some inspirational piano videos and I saw this video of an 8-Year-Old pianist! AMAZING!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fx68ltMC2DQ&t=2m26s

I doubt I’ll ever be like her (largely because I don’t have near her commitment)! Regardless, I am getting into a rhythm of my practices. I like to start a practice with a scale (I’ve learned how to do the C scale, and another one that I can’t remember the name of), and then work on my songs for my lesson. After that, I am working on some really challenging songs from my beginner worship book. I am trying to master two songs out of there by the end of the semester. After this, I return to one of my favourite songs that I have already mastered to end my practicing with something enjoyable, and leave my practice on a note of success! It seems to work well.

I hope that this project will turn into a lifelong learning project. I love my lessons, and my classmates are already begging me to return to lessons in the fall!

 
 

4 responses to “A Protégé? Not Quite…

  1. missburghardt

    March 12, 2012 at 11:02 am

    I know how you feel about high expectations! I started taking piano lessons when I was in grade 2 and stopped lessons in grade 7. I got fairly good – I can read the notes and play easy songs and my family was always really supported. Then I started dating my boyfriend and he plays guitar. When he learned that I could play the piano he wanted to learn some too so we could play a duet. So he bought a keyboard and started learning songs off YouTube. In about two weeks he could play far more complex and lengthy songs than I could and I felt like those 6 years of lessons were a bit of a waste! I think he expected me to be a bit better than I am!
    I think it depends on the person though, some people just have a knack for things and it seems like you do! Keep practicing!

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      March 12, 2012 at 12:02 pm

      Thanks for the comment!
      I’m beginning to believe that childhood piano, and traditional lessons are an entirely different way of playing, too, compared to “YouTube” kind of learning. Does that make sense? I think that they are almost independent, and certainly have unique styles.

       
  2. toriglynn

    March 19, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    I want to thank you for learning to play an musical instrument. I know it sounds strange but hear me out. I have a fairly musical background. I thank my parents for putting me in piano and voice lessons because now I know the theory and technique off by heart. I have a lot of respect for you because I know how much time must be invested if you want to improve. I strongly believe that music provides people skills that can be transferred into other areas of learning. At the risk of sounding cheesy I just want to encourage you to keep up the good work.

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      March 20, 2012 at 9:11 am

      Thanks so much for the encouragement! It means a lot. Nearly all of my friends are incredibly involved in music, and I see how important it is to them, and really value what it has to offer! (At this time of year, even a stress reliever is a good enough reason!)

       

Leave a Reply

 
