RSS

LeechBlock: My New Favourite Digital Invention

26 Mar

So, I am assuming that this time of year is about the same for you as it is for me?! In which case, I have more than enough papers, final projects, and even an exam to study for. And yet, somehow Facebook’s call beckons more strongly than it normally does!

I was on my blog today updating more of my professional pages, and when I logged out, the list of “freshly pressed” blogs came up, and one by a college student called Reflective Happiness popped up about setting goals. “Perfect!” I thought. So, anyway, I perused that for a while, and found out about the most marvelous little tool for Firefox. It’s called LeechBlock and you can enter which websites you want blocked, on what days of the week, at which times, and for how long you are (or are not allowed) access to those sites. Just what I need!

Of course, to test it I needed to play around on Facebook for 15 minutes, and just when I truly was getting distracted, it kicked me out! I love this new gadget and hope that it will help me to write five more pages of this essay…! Try it out if you have focus issues like me!

Image Courtesy of javierb

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2012 in Blogging Adventures

 

6 responses to “LeechBlock: My New Favourite Digital Invention

  1. teacher2014

    March 27, 2012 at 12:16 pm

    Hey what a great find! I’m just as guilty as you for checking Facebook instead of doing my homework. I call them little breaks….they turn into big ones lol. I may try this tool thanks for posting this!

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      March 27, 2012 at 6:29 pm

      Exactly! Except I need a similar one for my phone now…! haha! Let me know how you like it if you do use it.

       
  2. Brenna Moser

    March 31, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    I need this for my TV 😦 My roomate used a similar program for blocking Facebook and said it worked out really well! Although technology is great, I do find it a bit of a distraction at times! This tool would be great for teaching me (or even our future students) to have a little self control when it comes to social media!

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      April 1, 2012 at 8:36 am

      Haha! Thanks for the comment! Yes, I think that the best option is still learning self-control, but sometimes we just need a little external help too! Unfortunately I was actually trying to do work on Facebook last week and it kicked me out!

       
  3. kelsiewhite

    April 12, 2012 at 11:26 am

    Hey! This is such a great idea! I am so bad for checking facebook or other things when I need to be doing homework or studying. This is so great, and I might have to try it out! Thanks

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      April 12, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      On days like today when I need to be studying all day, it is annoyingly effective! haha! Good luck and happy studying!

       

Leave a Reply

 
