RSS

Tech Task #10: LMS Evaluation

27 Mar

This week Paula, Kelsie, and I created a Google Doc together and worked alongside one another to learn how to use the sites, as well as to critique and analyze the positives and negatives the Learning Management Systems of Edmodo and Schoology. We had a lot of fun (me as a Grade 1 teacher), Kelsie (as a student), and Paula (as a parent).

http://www.flickr.com/photos/36196762@N04/5322740412/

I think that we came to the overall conclusion that we prefer Schoology to Edmodo. From a teacher’s perspective, I found Schoology was a lot more user-friendly and invited more interaction between teachers, parents, and students. I really enjoyed the submission, marking, and feedback tools on both sites. We created events, assignments, and discussion posts.You can find our entire list of likes and dislikes on this Google doc.

I think that parents and students would easily be maneuver through these sites because of their similarities to Facebook. However, I certainly think it would be difficult to do much “teaching” on them. I see myself using these tools more just for computer-based assignment submissions, and correspondence with parents than anything else. Although I suppose documents, videos, etc, can be posted to allow for that teaching aspect, I think that these sites are more designed to be communication devices.

We decided at the end to close our accounts on both sites so that if we want to use them for a class in the future we can begin fresh. It turned out to be the most difficult part of the sites!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in Tech Tasks

 

2 responses to “Tech Task #10: LMS Evaluation

  1. teacher2014

    March 27, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    I also found Schoology to be more user friendly and I could see myself using this tool as a teacher. I might need your help because I also think I should close my account for future use. Thanks for pointing that out.

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      March 27, 2012 at 6:28 pm

      Haha! Good luck! For Edmodo you have to email them asking them to delete you. For Schoology, I was the administrator and never could figure out how to delete myself, although I believe Kelsie figured it out for deleting a student or parent– talk to her!

       

Leave a Reply

 
