RSS

Perfectly Busy Defined

30 Oct

I don’t know about you, but I am an expert organizer. However, I can also be an expert procrastinator. Put the two together and you can have a spotless room, apartment, to do list, homework pile, and life by 2:00 in the afternoon, tied together with a pretty bow, but absolutely nothing accomplished that is actually required to be accomplished… Works so effectively. Not. Regardless of your organizational practices, this post may apply to you!

Well, this week I was insanely busy with meetings for my volunteer work, teaching, group projects, and so much more that I had about an hour a day to spare in my room. Did I dare waste this precious hour procrastinating? Not a chance. I jumped directly into homework as soon as I walked in the door, and did homework until the second I had to leave again. Was I still organized? Yes. But not excessively so. I got more accomplished in those rare hour blocks this week than I did all weekend when I had unlimited time. I’ve noticed this trend before, too. If I am what I term “perfectly

busy” I get more accomplished, don’t get stressed, and also enjoy university! (Definition of perfectly busy: busy enough that one does not have time to waste by way of procrastination, but not too busy that one feels excessively swamped and exhausted.) I think that this is a hard balance to find, sometimes, and certainly won’t be prolonged for a whole year, as we all know that there are busy times and quiet times in a semester, but if you can find a balance overall of where you can be “perfectly busy,” you may find your time is maximized more than you can imagine!

And, if all else fails, clean your apartment! Maybe you’ll find motivation under your dirty dishes, and if not, your roommates will be pleased, at the least! 🙂

Enjoy your Halloween!! (Look at these adorable little trick or treaters!)

–Alyshia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2012 in University Success

 

Leave a Reply

 
