RSS

Stick to it!

08 Nov

Ok, everyone, we’re in the final stretch! Yay! If I told you I’m not counting down and listening to carols already, would you believe me? No, I wouldn’t believe me either…

However, in spite of this, it’s more important than ever to be on the ball and not exhausted. How many of you have more than 50% of your marks still left to earn in this last month? Yup, me too. Some classes I have 80% of my marks still left to earn. See what I mean about the whole semester boiling down to NOW, and why we really can’t afford to lose stamina for another month or so?

So, what can we do about it? Quite frankly, I’m going to suggest only two things. And I can almost guarantee they are two things that everyone in your family, and every “healthy lifestyle” magazine has ever told you, and every time you hear them, you roll your eyes.

  1. Exercise. Honestly. It is nearly impossible to drag myself to the gym, but after I do I get so much accomplished that day it’s crazy. I feel happier, I have more concentration, and I just feel better. Even if it’s for 20 minutes, getting your heart rate up will be one the best decisions you can make for your day.
  2. Eat healthy. Maybe this isn’t the case for everyone, but if I have a day full of fast food, salty, or fatty foods, I feel gross, sluggish, cranky, sick, and definitely not ready to conquer an essay. However, taking a 3 minute study break to grab an apple and yogurt from the fridge reinvigorates me and keeps me feeling capable and healthy! Some easy suggestions: carrot sticks, individual yogurts, trail mix, apples, bananas, grapes, or (‘tis the season): CHRISTMAS ORANGES!

I know these are things that you know, but if you’re anything like I was, eating healthy and exercising just seemed like too much work when you’re too busy, but they actually give you more productive work time. Try it! And don’t wait until you’re almost done university to figure it out, like I did..! My goal for this week is to not cancel one workout, and to maintain my eating habits. The fridge is stocked and my runners are out. Challenge accepted. Are you with me?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2012 in University Success

 

2 responses to “Stick to it!

  1. Amara

    November 13, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    It’s super cool blog..I love it..and im with you and accepting this challenge… 🙂

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      November 14, 2012 at 5:56 pm

      Thanks so much for the encouraging feedback! I’m so glad! Good luck with your semester!

       

Leave a Reply

 
