RSS

When Life Gets in the Way

16 Nov

Ok, so this week has been terrible for me in regards to everything not school related. A variety of situations and announcements have made schoolwork the last thing on my mind. So, what now? Frankly, there’s not much we can do. Yes, a semester off, or considering one less class next semester, might be the best option for some situations, but for most of us, we’re not quite ready to consider those options yet. So, how do I cope now, with school and life’s mountains? School is important, yes, but sometimes life is more important. It’s not easy. I’ll tell you that much. And I think each of us handle our setbacks in different ways.

What did I do? Wallow. One day. That’s it. I did nothing for one whole day, but the things that make me happiest—chocolate, Starbucks, books, exercise, Skyping my best friend, watching my favourite tv show, chicken and biscuits for supper, and talking to my mom. One day. I went to bed with the thought, “Tomorrow I’m starting to move forwards.” I’m not saying that it makes the next day much easier, but your attitude affects your attitude. Does that make sense? If I make a commitment to be cheery, it’s much easier to feel cheery! And realistically, I don’t have more than one day to waste.

If there’s something major going on, talk to your profs. Right away. They’re human, too, and most will understand that you may need a couple of extra days to hand that assignment in, especially if you talk to them before that assignment is due! Talk to someone else too—a roommate, a friend, a parent, a counsellor. It doesn’t matter. Just get it out so you can start moving your focus to other things again. If it’s an issue that’s still going to be there over Christmas break, consider shifting your focus away temporarily. You can deal with one thing at a time that way.

I know it’s easier said than done, but try and find a healthy response for you, and be comforted in the fact that you are most certainly not alone.  And if you’re not struggling with anything at the moment, celebrate in your blessings and lend a compassionate ear or hug to those who are. 🙂

Have a good weekend, whether it’s buried in books or taking a much needed break!

–Alyshia

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2012 in University Success

 

Leave a Reply

 
