RSS

G.Y.M. Explorations (EPE)

08 Feb

This week I attended G.Y.M. nights and figured it would be the perfect inspiration for a blog post. I was not mistaken! The children had stations that they worked through with their parents this week. There were a couple of things that I noted by playing with especially the youngest of the children:

  1. It’s neat to watch children interact with their parents. You learn a lot (granted, not everything, so I tried to refrain from making judgments or jumping to conclusions) about a family’s dynamics and the way they raise their children.

For example, two children had both of their parents actively participating with them. Their parents encouraged them to throw the balls in creative ways and challenged them to try new movements. The kids were entirely engaged and evidently developing in their movements to a great extent. This makes a huge difference in how these children will grow up and develop as movers.

  1. The youngest of movers do not lack confidence! They still believe they can do everything! Emily and I were showing one little guy how to throw a Frisbee at the tin pie plates. We both missed. A few

    times..! Anyway, he says, “Oh, that’s easy! Watch how I do it!” He was just as close as we were, but I don’t think that would have mattered one way or another to him. He was just determined to do it. That attitude is contagious, and exactly what we want to see from our little movers.

  2. On the contrary though, one of the older children, no matter what she did would say, “I just can’t do it. I don’t know how.” It didn’t matter what she did (or what I said or did for her), she had no confidence. She was just as capable as the other little boy I was working with, but was having a terrible time because of her outlook. I don’t know about her experiences in Phys Ed or with physical activity, but is there any way we could change this child’s negative perspective? What would you do for her in a Phys Ed class? My thought would be to provide situations for her that ensure she is successful to start with, as well as create a very safe, open environment that accepts mistakes as good learning.

I think we have a lot to learn from these little movers. Have you learned something truly inspiring or helpful from a child that you’d like to share with us to lighten everyone’s day?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 8, 2013 in EPE 310

 

2 responses to “G.Y.M. Explorations (EPE)

  1. jennavertefeuille

    February 10, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    This is interesting because when I had G.Y.M night I never heard a “I cannot do this” from any of the children. Do you think it’s because of the types of activities you were doing on your night were something that child in particular didn’t like that doing that night opposed to the activities on my night?

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      February 10, 2013 at 4:22 pm

      Good thought, Jenna. You could be right. It could just be a matter of interest. However, I wouldn’t think that would make her so hard on herself. I would think it would just mean boredom. Hard to say! There were probably a lot of factors involved! Thanks for the insight though!

       

Leave a Reply

 
