RSS

February Break- Enjoy! (URG)

10 Feb

Yay! It’s that time of year! Are you heading off to a hot locale? Or a ski holiday? Home-cooked meals? Or sweats and catch-up homework time? Making some extra cash?

February break is a week in which each of us does something slightly different. Thus, it’s a time to prioritize and customize! You’re not going to be able to do everything. So, what do you think is going to make the biggest difference and de-stress you the most going into the rest of the semester? Is it to be caught up (or ahead) on all

Photo Credit: 96dpi via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: 96dpi via Compfight cc

of your homework? Or is it to finally take a breath and re-energize with family and friends? You need to make that decision. Oftentimes it’s a mix of both. But the main goal is: come back ready for the rest of the semester.

My best suggestion:Go through all of your course schedules and syllabi and make a list—when are all of your assignments, exams, meetings, commitments, and other assorted things due? Whether that’s in a list or in a calendar, write them down. Don’t forget to put the percentage of each in brackets beside it (so that you don’t stress over an assignment worth 5% when you have an exam later that week worth 40%– you shouldn’t necessarily be prioritizing by date). Now you can see the rest of your semester and know for certain what needs to get done when.

Happy holidaying!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2013 in University Success

 

2 responses to “February Break- Enjoy! (URG)

  1. jillianengele

    February 11, 2013 at 9:31 pm

    Winter break is definitely bittersweet for me this year! Usually I would be overjoyed to have a week off and this year is no exception. I am going away on a hot holiday for 10 days and of course I am looking forward to it. But…. I feel the timing is really bad this year and I know that I am going to be very stressed when I get back! The chances of me getting any homework done in Mexico is very slim! I have tried my best to get ahead in our assignments so that I would not be stressed out but it seems as though I cannot keep up! Hopefully in the next few days I can get some things done so that I can relax and enjoy my holiday – our 3 week block is creeping up way too fast! Thanks for the post and have a great break Alyshia!

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      February 12, 2013 at 10:51 am

      Nice! Have fun! Enjoy the trip! Work will always be here when you get back! These posts with “(URG)” on them are designed for the UR Guarantee mentor program, so your added insight for first year students will be valuable! Thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
