RSS

Handy-Dandy University Items (URG)

25 Feb

Welcome back, fellow students! I hope everyone is rejuvenated for the last quarter of your year! I don’t know if it is just me or what, but with the sunny weather, I am beginning to feel the spring fever setting in! I am planning a unit to teach my Grade 2 pre-intern class, and have optimistically inserted a few days of lessons out in the playground!

Photo Credit: Shereen M via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Shereen M via Compfight cc

However, now with this springy weather, I have started thinking about all of the high school grads coming up and gifts I need to purchase. I had no idea where to start and could not clearly remember what my best gifts had been when I graduated. I decided to share some of the ideas at a variety of prices that I have come up with. If you don’t have all of these things, maybe think of investing in them! They are super practical!

  1. Large Ziploc bags (SO versatile—leftovers, take to school with school supplies or lunch, store receipts, and so much more)
  2. USB sticks (If you’re anything like me, you can always use these. They have neat animals and cartoon characters and everything in between. I have two in my desk, one in my backpack, and one for work.)
  3. First Aid Kit (Get a little creative! When you go home next, go through the medicine cabinet and pull out bits of everything you might need. Medicine is expensive, and as I’m sure you’ve already found out, Mom isn’t around to go get that Gravol for you anymore, so it is nice to have a few pills on hand when you get sick at 2 AM so you don’t have to venture out. Besides, you don’t need the whole bottle of Ibuprofen or the whole box of Q-tips or Band-Aids. Just snag a few from home!)
  4. Keurig or Tassimo machine. (Yes, I always claimed I wasn’t a coffee drinker, too. University tends to change that…)
  5. Fan (If you live in residence, you know it can be boiling hot and you have little say in the matter. Or, you may have noisy roommates and a fan is a great way of drowning out the noise.)
  6. Gift cards (coffee shop, your favourite store, Wal-Mart, university bookstore, etc. While these are great for new high school grads, they are great for you, too. When you have a surplus of money after holidays, birthdays, or summer employment, consider purchasing a few gift cards for yourself so that you have them when you are running low on cash and need a little treat. Don’t go crazy– $20 will suffice!)
 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in University Success

 

5 responses to “Handy-Dandy University Items (URG)

  1. kimberlyrcooper

    February 25, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    This is great Alyshia!! I always struggle with ideas for grad gifts. I LOVE the idea of a fan, if I would have got one for grad it definitely would have been a favourite. I love the white noise when sleeping as well as I like a cool environment to sleep in. The First Aid Kit is also a great idea, my first couple of months were spent running to Wal Mart the first time I got a cold, headache, etc. Those little things that we take for granted while living at home that aren’t on the list of things to buy when settling into a new place.
    Also, as a university student purchasing grad gifts it is nice to have ideas of gifts that aren’t going to cost an arm and a leg!! We all know that funds are tight since university and rent suck the money out of us. 🙂 Thanks for the cheap, but great ideas!
    Which of these would you have found most useful at the beginning of your first year of university?
    -Kim

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      February 26, 2013 at 9:14 am

      Thanks for the positive feedback, Kim! Yes, it is crazy the amount of things we forget about or take for granted, isn’t it? If I had to choose one, I’d say I’d pick the gift cards– I’m so stingy as far as money goes, but if I have a gift card, then I tend to treat myself a little more often!

       
  2. kelsiewhite

    February 25, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    Alyshia I really loved this!! You have some really cute and awesome ideas for gifts!! PS I too claimed I was not a coffee drinker until University got ahold of me 🙂

     
    • kimberlyrcooper

      February 25, 2013 at 8:29 pm

      Kelsie, I have always tried to be a coffee drinker because my entire family drinks coffee so I thought I needed to so I could be “grown up”. Since I started university I am in fact “grown up” considering I depend on my caffeine boost most mornings! It is terrible, but necessary. 🙂

       
    • alyshiavankannel

      February 26, 2013 at 9:15 am

      Haha! Yes, it’s only too true! Thanks for the encouraging feedback!

       

Leave a Reply

 
