RSS

It’s Not Entirely Innovative to Include Technology in PE Apparently (EPE)

25 Feb

Upon beginning this technology journey in an EPE class, I thought that it was the least likely subject to include technology in! However, I have come to value not only the benefit of technology for teachers teaching Physical Education, but in this blog post on Participaction, I found the value that technology can have for students in Phys Ed, too!

Photo Credit: Daveblog via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Daveblog via Compfight cc

Reflecting on my own physical literacy, physical activity, and self-education of all things exercise, I came to realize that I use technology frequently. Whether this is a video to learn how to safely execute a movement, digital plans that help me create a healthy workout plan for my body and current fitness level, networking through web pages to find a dragon boat team, or an app on my iPhone to keep track of the distance I’ve run, there are many ways that I use technology. So why can’t students?

The article that I mentioned earlier is great at including apps that can be used with students in a Physical Education classroom. I believe it really allows you to imagine the possibilities that you could incorporate into Phys Ed that make the learning truly lifelong and meaningful for students. The apps are awesome, and would absolutely engage students. Check it out! However, I question how practical some of these might be, and especially in early elementary. Do you agree or disagree? How might they be adapted to use in these younger grades, if they are not entirely appropriate for young students?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2013 in EPE 310

 

2 responses to “It’s Not Entirely Innovative to Include Technology in PE Apparently (EPE)

  1. efritzke

    March 8, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    This is a great blog post. It has a ton of great ideas to use technology in the classroom. I like the idea of having apps that keep track of our physical activity and food consumption because this gives the students a chance to monitor their own progress. I also liked the assignment idea of using fast food apps to create a burger and fries meal and to look at the crazy amount of calories, fat, and SODIUM is in one meal!! I would do an activity like this in more grade 4 and 5 because they are able to easily comprehend the large numbers. Thanks Alyshia for a great resource.

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      March 9, 2013 at 12:08 pm

      Good point. It would be more effective for the upper grades, definitely. Thanks for the comment, Emily!

       

Leave a Reply

 
