RSS

Marvelous March Monday (URG)

04 Mar

Hey there! How many of you are doing the March Calendar Challenge? If you are not, or were not aware of, have a look at the calendar and maybe choose a few things to do anyway. Although I am participating in the challenge, I am also in the midst of my Lenten challenge for this year, and that started February 13, so at the moment I have more that I would like to share about that.

Photo Credit: Patricia Mellin via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Patricia Mellin via Compfight cc

Normally for Lent, I choose something to help me grow. Some years that has been giving up chocolate, or the computer for enjoyment purposes, or my television shows. Some year it has been a focus on prayer or devotion. Certainly, I have developed from these 40 days of commitment. However, this year I felt I needed to focus my energy in a different direction. I have chosen to spend the season living generously. This meant writing a thank you note to the teacher that inspired my decision to go into education (I had not spoken to him in many years), purchasing a coffee for the person behind me, or giving up something important to me. It also has come to have a global focus in addition to a local impact, meaning challenging me to make informed decisions about where I am donating (my money, time, and prayer support) and checking my clothing labels and brands to then find out if I am dressing in a socially responsible way.

It has been such a beneficial experience so far. I find it challenging, exciting, and a great learning experience. Regardless of if you participate in Lent or not, maybe consider a revolutionary challenge to increase the generosity in your life! You won’t be disappointed.

I am using my own schedule and challenges that I find necessary, as well as 40acts! Check them out.

Have a great week!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in University Success

 

2 responses to “Marvelous March Monday (URG)

  1. kelsiewhite

    March 5, 2013 at 10:08 pm

    Hey Alyshia! I had not heard of this calendar challenge before, but I really love it! I think it is a great way to get us thinking about the things we are doing and really being aware of how our life is going. This really makes me think a lot of the mindful thinking presentation we had in Donna’s class. Ever since then I have tried to be aware of the things I am doing and present in the moments, and I think that doing things on this calendar is a great way to help us slow down and be mindful of what we are doing (especially at a time when it is so easy to be stressed and overwhelmed by everything that is going on).

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      March 6, 2013 at 7:31 pm

      Absolutely! And I like that it focuses on only one thing a day– no need to conquer the world in 24 hours! It is manageable and healthy. I’m glad to hear you’re working on it, too. Thanks for the comment!

       

Leave a Reply

 
