RSS

Fun Filled Week #2 (EPE & URG)

23 Mar

Wow! I can’t believe I’m almost done my three week block already! It has been going so quickly and I am not exactly eager to leave the classroom for the university again.

My exciting part of the week is that I taught from 9:00-3:30 today! My co-op called  me in the morning saying that she would not be there and that I could either share with the sub the day plan or I could just teach all day. So I decided to take the leap and give it a try. I’m awfully proud of myself. As soon as their teacher was not present the students tested the boundaries. However, I knew enough of what the routines and expectations were that they didn’t walk all over me. I don’t think..! The day was a little bit loud and unorganized overall (as I didn’t know I would be teaching, and my coop didn’t know she was going to be gone), but it was an awesome experience and I think I did pretty well all things considered. I’m not sure I would have done anything very differently. The students accomplished a lot and there were no complaints about me or the day the following morning!Group of five happy children jumping outdoors.

This week there were also parent teacher interviews, so I was put into the library to help with the book fair. It was really neat to see the interactions between parents and their children, and where their priorities were in regards to reading. Many parents were very encouraging of their children to choose books that were appropriate to their level and rich in text.

In regards to Phys Ed, I was able to watch my co-op teach. The students had been indoors for recess for two days, and she felt they needed a high activity Phys Ed class. So, she created a “game” where the boys lined up on one line and the girls on the other and called out, “Girls get to do 30 jumping jacks,” then, “Boys get to do 10 pushups,” etc. The students loved it! It was so simple, but the children definitely increased their heart rate for a sustained period and developed their movement skills like skipping and galloping. Besides, they got some great exercise, were constantly involved, and were focused on their own movements, and not those of the other students. What do you think of this simple activity? Could there be alterations to make it more effective or suited to the Grade 2 curriculum? Are there any flaws in it? Have you observed or taught any other high activity lessons that would have been great to use in a situation like this?

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
