RSS

Week 3: A Speedy But Huge Journey Comes to a Close (EPE & URG)

30 Mar

I cannot believe all that I’ve done and seen in these past three weeks. And yet, in the blink of an eye, I’m finished! So, a final summary of the three weeks:

This week the students were supposed to present their safety skits (because the videotaping did not work, as the students that were practicing kept getting in the way of the filming, and outdoors it was too hard to hear and record their voices). However, the first presentation turned into a silly display of goofiness on the play structure, and was not focused or educational at all. The students in the “audience” were distracted and then laughing at their comedic acting and trying to join in on the play structure. I had watched these students practice their skit and it was very good. I believe if I had videotaped them they would not have changed their plans to entertain their peers alone. With all factors combined, we decided to return to the classroom and have students present the findings they had written down to their peers. It was not nearly as beneficial or exciting, and both the students and I were disappointed. In the future I would definitely record the videos ahead of time and individually (my coop teacher suggested inviting an older student or parent volunteer to film while I organized a game in the field for all of the other students). This way they could be monitored more easily, too. Certainly a great learning experience for me, and all in all, I think the students understood exactly what they were meant to. Now I can’t wait for internship—I am no longer petrified of it! image201303300001

On my last day, we had a Dr. Seuss party which my coop and I had worked very hard to prepare. The students had a blast. My coop also had the students (while I was “conveniently” out of the room for an hour) write me reference letters. They were absolutely adorable. One student wrote, “Please don’t hire her away from us! We like her here!” Note in the above I “even help!” 🙂 They also signed a Dr. Seuss book and gave me a bucket filler book. Of course, I also got many hugs. It was such a rewarding experience and I am going to miss each of them! They were the  best class and  best coop a person could ask for!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2013 in EPE 310, University Success

 

6 responses to “Week 3: A Speedy But Huge Journey Comes to a Close (EPE & URG)

  1. Brian Lewis (@gymovers)

    March 30, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    If you have not already, make a box or container to keep things like the letters in. Trust me, there will be days in your career when you need a pick me up and there is nothing better! I have a book of letters from one of my schools that I still look at when i need a kick in the rear. The block is a learning experience and I am glad to see you recognize how you would do things differently. Thanks for sharing Alyshia

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      April 2, 2013 at 7:10 pm

      I do have a box of wonderful little “pick-me-ups!” It definitely helps some days. Thanks for the encouragement and feedback!

       
  2. Kendra Finch

    March 31, 2013 at 10:30 am

    Awe that letter is adorable! Sounds like you had a great group of students. Some of my students wrote me letters on scrap pieces of paper. It amazing how a simple note can put a smile on your face.

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      April 2, 2013 at 7:13 pm

      Absolutely, Kendra! It doesn’t take much to make us grin, does it?! I’m glad your students, too, recognize your wonderfulness! It is very encouraging. Thanks for your comment!

       
  3. jennavertefeuille

    March 31, 2013 at 10:48 am

    Alyshia I am so jelous you got to have a Dr. Seuss party! By the sounds of it your block was very rewarding! What are some challenges that you have encountered with classroom mangement through out your three week block?

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      April 2, 2013 at 7:17 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Jenna! Yes, it was very rewarding. I’d say the biggest challenge was just that there are so many levels in the classroom, so it’s hard to keep all of the students challenged all at once. Some are done in 5 minutes, and some take 50 minutes to complete an assignment, and we all know what happens when you get bored students! So, the biggest aspect of classroom management that I worked on was that I had to ensure the students were always challenged and engaged at all levels.

       

Leave a Reply

 
