RSS

Calling All Students!

15 Sep

I’d like to take the time to introduce the UR Guarantee mentor program today because I hope it is something that many of you will consider signing up for (whether as a mentor or as a mentee)!psb

Last year, I was paired up with one student. She was in Education as well and we spent about once a week together. This wasn’t required, but we liked this arrangement. She was not from Canada, and was seeking a “cultural introduction,” and I was very excited to have someone who was willing to try all the winter sports that I loved!

My mentee from last year says about the program, “When I first came to Regina, I feel upset because of the assignment burden and lonely because of few friends, especially the local friends. I think that I am so lucky, because Alyshia is so nice, friendly and helpful. We spent some amazing time together last semester.”

As a mentor, I see the absolute value in participating in a program such as this. The mentors in my life have made all the difference to me, so to attempt to do the same in someone else’s life was a way of expressing my thanks and paying it forward. However, I learned so much by being a mentor too. I learned how to better express myself, how to be a better leader, have greater accountability, and most importantly, that we are all learners and we are all teachers.

Consider the program! You don’t have anything to lose!IMG_0334

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 15, 2013 in University Success

 

Leave a Reply

 
