RSS

FIRST GRADERS CAN FUNCTION BETTER THAN ME? A LESSON IN FOREIGN FEELINGS & TRUST

06 Sep

Lessons & Learnings, Prayers & Praises:

– One afternoon I overheard one of my students whisper to her friend, “We are so lucky – Miss Van Kannel is the most wonderful teacher.” Awwww… My heart melts. I am already building relationships.

– I have had a pretty exhausting, pretty challenging first month of school. Some of my students are in some really tough places, and some are putting me in some pretty tough places. I have been worn down, worn out, and frustrated. However, I am already coming to a very strong assurance: I am NOT in control. Ya. That’s a good, strong assurance.

A river boat trip we took outside of Granada

A river boat trip we took outside of Granada

I can’t be. I can’t handle it. I’m in the hands of God, and by Him, in the hands of others. I am in full reliance on Him. And I know that everything was through Him in Canada, too, but it’s so much more distinctly noticeable here. I HAVE to abandon my self-sufficient ways. It’s terrifying, but it is so purifying. I am relying fully on Him for enough money each month, for the actual provision and opportunity to get groceries, for health and safety, for patience, for wisdom, for the words to communicate and understand, for travel, for literally everything. Do the challenges bog me down some days? Yes. But overall, I’m not stressed. Anybody who knows me, knows that worry is my middle name, so this is amazing. I am doing this only through Him, and so far, yes, it’s going WELL. He gives me enough one day at a time.

I didn’t mean to leave it on a deep note, but here’s a lighter thought: spoiler alert for the next blog post – stay tuned for travelling in Nicaragua and national holidays – this teacher is preparing for a 5 day weekend next weekend! Woo hoo! One month down of teaching!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2015 in My Musical Learning Journey

 

6 responses to “FIRST GRADERS CAN FUNCTION BETTER THAN ME? A LESSON IN FOREIGN FEELINGS & TRUST

  1. Wendy garland

    September 6, 2015 at 8:29 am

    Love your blogs,so wonderful to hear of your experiences. Hunter is visiting& is enjoying reading too! Wonderful job! Have a good time sight seeing next week!

     
  2. Linda Jensen

    September 7, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    Thanks for sharing!! So glad to hear that you are alive and kicking some serious butt!! Wow. I love the tamarind monkeys. Beautiful pic. Thoughts, prayers, and acceptance of what is new are yours today. Lovely. And yes, some of it beyond our comprehension. Blessings, Alyshia!
    Linda

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      September 8, 2015 at 6:51 pm

      Oh, thanks, Linda! So good of you to stop by! How are things with you?!

       
      • Linda Jensen

        September 20, 2015 at 9:56 pm

        I am hoping that we can blog as a class with you sometime. The kids couldn’t believe the rat! Brave girl -you rock sistA!! Loved your dance vid. Nice moves!! Pretty dress.
        Blessings Alyshia,
        Linda

         
      • alyshiavankannel

        September 23, 2015 at 7:59 pm

        Yes, keep me posted – you’ve got my email! We’re doing Pen Pals with St. A’s and the kids LOVE it. Such fun. What grade are you in this year?! Where?! Thanks for keeping up to date and sharing my stories.

         

Leave a Reply

 
