RSS

Playing Tourist & Experiencing Local

20 Sep
Photo by my lovely roommate Katelyn Persenaire

Photo by my lovely roommate Katelyn Persenaire

We celebrated Fiestas Patrias this week. This is Nicaragua’s Independence Day. Each class did a dance, as did the teachers. We had cultural presentations and then the dancing and dramas at the end, wrapping up the day with a traditional Nicaraguan meal for lunch and early dismissal.

My First Grade Kids Ready to Go!

My First Grade Kids Ready to Go!

It was wonderful to be a part of this, have Spanish dance lessons, and enjoy the wild cheering of my students. Looking over at them during the performance, at least three of my girls nearly had their noses on the stage trying to copy my every move. Even several of the boys told me I looked beautiful!

I’ve included the video for the teacher dance below. *The first 2 minutes are pretty dull, so if you want to watch from there, that is what I would recommend!*

Then, off for some TLC! I went to Leon with a friend for an overnight trip and did some sightseeing there.

The view of the volcanoes and city from León Cathedral

The view of the volcanoes and city from León Cathedral

A very pleasant trip. The highlight was church on Sunday – we attended a Spanish/English service that was so welcoming and fun to sing a single worship song, alternating back and forth between the languages. Communion was in Spanish, a Bible reading was in English, etc. Very cool.

The top of the León Cathedral

The top of the León Cathedral

We also visited a lake (Laguna de Apoyo) where we swam, relaxed, and listened to the parrots. Then, on our last day off we went to a beach on the Pacific. There were no trees for kilometers (if at all?) and in spite of 3 sunscreen applications in 4 hours, I got fried (blisters and all). Wasn’t a huge fan of that trip due to the lack of facilities and shade, but we did some beach combing, had what seemed like the whole coast to ourselves, and saw some wonderful little horses out for a gander.

Now back to school!

My first time SUPing at the Laguna. Yikes.

My first time SUPing at the Laguna. Yikes.

  DSCN0106 

12021930_1041579915893066_838476751_n

Photo by Katelyn Persenaire

The Teachers

The Teachers

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2015 in My Musical Learning Journey

 

2 responses to “Playing Tourist & Experiencing Local

  1. Wendy garland

    September 20, 2015 at 8:13 pm

    Nice to here you got to go explore a bit. Loved the video of the dance! I was watching your feet, you can tell that you have danced before awesome job😀 your students are so cute .

     
    • alyshiavankannel

      September 23, 2015 at 8:01 pm

      Haha! I don’t know about my dance skills, but thanks! They are pretty sweet kids, I agree! Thanks for stopping by to read!

       

Leave a Reply

 
